Department News

Isabel Montanez

Isabel Montañez | Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal

Professor Isabel Montañez will receive the 2019 Jean Baptiste Lamarck Medal from the European Geophysical Union (EGU) Division of Stratigraphy, Sedimentology, and Paleontology at the EGU 2019 General Assembly in Vienna, Austria (April 7-12). The medal is awarded to scientists for their exceptional contributions to stratigraphy, sedimentology or paleontology.


Planetary Science

Science Channel's Space's Deepest Secrets | Dark Origins of the Moon

Professor Sarah Stewart's research is featured in "Dark Origins of the Moon", the season opening episode of Science Channel's Space's Deepest Secrets series. Her segment focuses on the experiments she and her group are doing at Sandia National Laboratory to re-create the extreme conditions during moon formation.


  • National Nuclear Security Administration | New Center of Excellence
    The University of California San Diego was awarded $10.5 million over five years from the National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) to create one of four new centers of excellence. The Center for Matters under Extreme Pressure (CMEC) will have an emphasis on creation and diagnosis of extreme states of matter utilizing computer modeling and experiments to develop a better understanding of high-energy density systems. The center will be headquartered at UC San Diego, but will work in partnership with three other University of California campuses — Berkeley, Davis and Los Angeles — the University of Chicago, Florida A&M University and General Atomics. Dr. Farhat Beg (UC San Diego) will lead research and technological breakthroughs in high-energy density physics while training graduate students at the participating campuses and NNSA National Laboratories. Sarah Stewart at UC Davis will lead measurement of the material properties of geologic materials under shock pressure and modeling of planet formation and internal structure. 


Geerat Vermeij

Geerat Vermeij | Curiosity Project

Blinded by childhood glaucoma at age 3, Professor Geerat Vermeij quickly learned to focus on his sense of touch to satisfy his curiosity about the outside world. At age 10, he began collecting seashells. Today, Geerat Vermeij is a Distinguished Professor of Earth and Planetary Sciences at UC Davis and hopes that his deep curiosity will inspire others to observe, discover, and understand. Watch below.


Sarah Stewart

Dr. Sarah Stewart-Mukhopadhyay Named MacArthur ‘Genius’ Fellow

Dr. Sarah Stewart-Mukhopadhyay has been named one of the 2018 MacArthur Fellows! Also known as the 'Genius Grant,' the MacArthur Fellows program recognizes "extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits and a marked capacity for self-direction." Sarah joins a prestigious group, drawn from across the arts, humanities, and sciences. It is a prize held in similar esteem to the Nobel. UC Davis Earth and Planetary Sciences is one of two earth science departments in the nation with more than one MacArthur Fellow on its faculty (Geerat Vermeij is a 1992 fellow).

more news