UC Davis Geology Undergraduate Student Honors & Awards

Departmental Awards. The Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences nominates students each year for awards and scholarships based on high achievement, involvement in co-curricular endeavors, and potential as a scientist. Below are some of the awards and scholarships offered through the year and at graduation to some of the department’s best students.

Outstanding Senior Award

The Outstanding Senior Award is given each year to one graduating student from each major across campus, recognizing their "excellent academic achievement", "outstanding contribution to the academic environments through active involvement with faculty and fellow students", and "demonstrated leadership". 

Department Citation and Citation for Outstanding Performance

These awards are given in the Spring to one graduating student each who has shown excellence in their classes and substantial contributions to the department. 

Association for Women Geoscientists Outstanding Senior Award

The Association for Women Geoscientists collects a nomination from the Department each year for one outstanding female graduate. 

Robert A. Matthews Undergraduate Research Fund (MURF) Award for Undergraduate Students in the Geosciences

Students pursuing a Senior Thesis in the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences may apply for funding for their research. Awards are given based on written proposals to students showing potential for future development as a research scientist.

Provost's Undergraduate Fellowship (PUF)

The Provost's Undergraduate Fellowship is a prestigious campus-wide fellowship awarded to students pursuing a research project, often a senior thesis, designed to help alleviate research costs. 

Everett Dale Jackson Memorial Scholarship

The Jackson Scholarship honors Everett Dale Jackson and is awarded to high-achieving upper class Geology majors who apply each year.

Thomas W. Todd Scholarship

The Thomas W. Todd Scholarship is awarded annually to high-achieving students entering their senior year.